Light Spiced Onion Rings

onion ringsWith the acceptance that just around the corner is a holiday originally meant to celebrate the dead but which is instead celebrated by loading up on sugar (how did this happen again?), I figured that I’m doomed to eat unhealthily this month. There’s a bowl of candy corn on my coffee table which seems to magically fill up every time I eat the last one (thanks roomie) and since I’m going to get my wisdom teeth out soon, a few extra cavities should really be no big deal. Anyways…going along with the sugary festivities I thought adding some deep fried comfort food into the mix should just add variety. And there is my logic for attempting my first batch of onion rings. I should warn you ahead of time that I made 7 of them and then got too frustrated to continue. This is probably due to the fact that my kitchen is roughly the size of a dinner table for 4 and trying to fit multiple bowls plus a hell-hot skillet of oil into the same space is tricky. Overall though, with the right preparation and ingredients, it could be a little easier. Without further ado…

  1. 3 cups all purpose flour
  2. 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  3. 1 1/2 tablespoons ground cumin
  4. 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  5. 1 teaspoon each of paprika and chili powder
  6. 1 can evaporated milk
  7. Enough vegetable or peanut oil to fill up a deep skillet about an inch
  8. 1 onion…obviously

Please use your own judgment when it comes to the spices since I’m only guessing how much I used here. So basically just mix together the flour, garlic powder, cumin, salt, paprika and chili powder and set that aside. Cut your onion into thick slices, about an inch thick, and separate out the layers.

Take one onion ring and dip it in the evaporated milk. Shake off the excess and then dip it into the flour mixture. Then one more time dip it in the evaporated milk and then the flour mixture. Once your oil is really hot, go ahead and place the onion in the oil and wait until it’s golden brown to take it out.

The problem I came across was actually keeping the breading on the onion as it fried so if anyone has any recommendations, they’re welcomed! Once they’re out of the oil, put them on a plate lined with paper towels to drain off the extra oil. Enjoy 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Light Spiced Onion Rings

  1. larry graham

    try leaving the batter on and putting in the refrigerator for awhile before you deep fry it.

Leave a Reply

