Kitchen Essentials

essentialsI thought for today’s post that I would compile a list of “essentials” for cookware, or at least essentials in my book.  I’m hoping anyone who reads this has access to a stovetop and oven so those were excluded, as well as things like a coffee pot, which is more than essential in my house. So here we go.

  1. One medium sized skillet. Here’s a set of three from target but really you only need the medium size. http://www.target.com/Farberware-3-pc-Skillet-Set/dp/B001IB0NPC/sr=1-9/qid=1256263981/ref=sr_1_9/192-8290411-3995066?ie=UTF8&search-alias=tgt-index&frombrowse=0&index=target&rh=k:skillet&page=1
    1. Use your skillet to…
      1. Make eggs
      2. Sear meat
      3. Stir fry
      4. Pancakes
      5. If at least two inches deep, fill it with oil to deep fry.
  2. One cookie sheet. I don’t think this one needs explanation…
  3. One medium sized pot (I believe it’s called a stock pot officially?). I wish I had a recommendation but unfortunately all I have are IKEA ones which I highly DON’T recommend. They burn super easy and the plastic handles come loose. Not that I don’t like IKEA…I love Sweden.
    1. Use your pot to…
      1. good (not instant) rice
      2. soups/stew
      3. pasta
      4. oatmeal
      5. boil corn on the cob
      6. make all sorts of deliciousness
  4. Mixing Bowls and Measuring Spoons/Cups
    1. Three mixing bowls should do just fine but lots of companies sell them in sets of ten which can also be really useful. The smaller bowls can be used for things like sauces, herbed butters, and fruit while the bigger ones are good for mixing.
    2. If you’re looking to spend extra money then these are what you want to buy. They’re really good at holding temperature (‘cause they’re metal, duh) , they can be used as double boilers, and they’re also pretty enough to use as serving bowls. http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/sku9387663/?pkey=x|4|1||4|mixing%20bowls||0&cm_src=SCH
  5. A cutting board really is a necessity. Unless you have the luxury of lots of counter space, in which case I’m jealous, a sturdy wooden cutting board is going to be a good investment. Make sure you get one that looks like it’ll be too big, otherwise you’ll have cut up vegetables flying over the sides. I got mine at Wal-Mart.
  6. Tongs, Spatula, Ladle
    1. Use these to handle, stir and scoop. Obviously.
  7. Knives
    1. Chef’s knife. I have to say, if there’s one thing you take to heart from this whole list it should be knives. After I suffered through a Kroger brand chef’s knife for a year that couldn’t even slice a cucumber after a month of use, I couldn’t be happier with my current one. http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/cu079/?pkey=x|4|1||4|chefs%20knife||0&cm_src=SCH
    2. Paring knife. My paring knife looks like a shark (on purpose) and it was a birthday gift. It’s not from a fancy knife company and it works wonderfully. The company is called animal house and they’re sold at Target.
    3. Bread knife. I don’t have one of these and I’ve survived. I have to say, cutting my baguette last night was incredibly challenging, but I’ve managed.

Now, even though my roommate said that these next ones weren’t “essential”, I’ve gotten a lot of use out of them. Grant it, I get really excited when I see a Williams-Sonoma catalogue and my Christmas list will probably consist of things like a candy thermometer and stainless steel measuring cups, but still…

  1. Food Processor. I can’t even begin to describe how over used my poor processor is. It grates cheese in no time at all, makes salsa, pesto, soup, hummus, mashed potatoes, etc…I have a Kenmore. No complaints.
  2. The last time I popped by my grandparent’s house, granny happened to have an emulsifier she said she didn’t need and it made my month. Basically emulsifier’s are good for making soups and that’s kind of it. I would never pay for one but they’re awesome to use. It’s like using a little electronic tornado to get all the lumps out of whatever you’re making.
  3. Microplane Grater. I use this daily. It grates garlic, ginger, parmesan and zests citrus fruits to a pretty, tiny curl. http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/cw368/?pkey=x|4|1||4|microplane%20grater||0&cm_src=SCH
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Kitchen Essentials

  1. Anita Mannur

    Great list!

Leave a Reply

