Homemade Spinach and Asparagus Pizza

pizzaI came across little rounded bundles of potential culinary creativity in the form of frozen pizza dough at Kroger. Somehow these had escaped my notice before, which is shocking since I spend upwards of two hours in the grocery store once a week, glancing over the bright, unpackaged glory of the produce section and sometimes, the red, marbled variety in the meat area. Unfortunately, the two or three portions of the frozen isles dedicated to Cincinnati’s best contribution to the world (Graeter’s ice cream), often get priority. Anyways, the pizza dough got me thinking that I haven’t tried making a homemade pizza. If DiGiorno’s can do it, so can I. The best thing about making your own pizza is that it’s a blank slate. Pretty much anything goes but I decided to use asparagus and spinach. Here’s my recipe.

Pizza Sauce:

Half of a medium yellow onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

olive oil

1 tablespoon dried rosemary

1 tablespoon dried basil

2 teaspoons honey

raw ginger

12 oz crushed tomatoes (i think? it was about the size of a can of soup)

Once again, I feel like it’s necessary for me to start this out by saying that I never go by a recipe. I’m trying my best to remember the basics, but use your own judgment.  Saute the onion and garlic in olive oil for one or two minutes. Zest some ginger in, probably half a teaspoon, and let that a saute for half a minute more. Add the crushed tomatoes, rosemary, basil and honey and let it all simmer for 15 minutes or so.

The Pizza

Take your thawed out pizza dough and flour the outside. Flatten it out to the desired size and dust off any extra flour. Put the pizza sauce on top and then top it off with (in my case) rinsed off, chopped pieces of asparagus and roughly chopped spinach. For the cheese, I bought good, fresh Parmesan (a pricey, but worth it investment)  and a ball of smoked mozzarella. Grate some Parmesan on first and then slice thin slices of the mozzarella and place on top. Depending on the pizza size, it should take about 15 minutes at 375 degrees.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

