Pan-Seared Steak with Red Wine Reduction Sauce

Click on the photo to see this, and more of fotoosvanrobin's awesome food photography!

My creative juices are in short supply tonight and like everything else in my life I’ve procrastinated on procrastinating so that I have about 20 minutes of unused caffeine left until I fall asleep on my couch, cat in lap. However, I would like to discuss with you one meal that I’ve been enjoying a lot lately thanks to Wal-Mart’s discounted meat cuts [yay mass-marketed, anti-biotic fed cow meat (*sadface*)].

My urges for meat seem to overpower my animal friendly personality most of the time, especially when it comes to thick-cut, slightly over-crispy bacon. I can’t help but think about our chickens we had as pets whenever I eat anything that was once living. Goldilocks and  Midnight (our first two chickens that were golden yellow and black—there’s my 9 year old creative name-giving genius) would often take a stroll through our kitchen, stopping along the way to ride on my dad’s shoulder or hang out with the family for awhile. They were our family chickens and I miss them. After midnight died we got another black rooster that was decidedly much more rooster like and far less friendly so my dad started calling him MTET-Midnight the Evil Twin.

Surprisingly to some who may not have had the luxury of having a house-roaming farm animal growing up, every chicken has their own personality. It’s always sad to me that my taste buds win out in the battle against my conscience. Anyways, I found out how to make a good steak and a simple sauce to go with it. My mom preferred it grilled but I think it’s pretty tasty cooked this way.

1) Heat up enough grapeseed oil (or other oil) on medium-high heat to just cover the bottom of a cast iron skillet (or a normal skillet)-a few tablespoons.

2) After patting each steak dry with a paper towel, and salting and peppering both sides of your steaks, put them in the skillet. After about 30 seconds, flip them over.

3) Right after you flip the steaks onto the un-seared side, put them, skillet included, in a 500 degree oven. After three minutes, open the oven and flip the steaks back over, letting them cook for 3 minutes on the other side. The time will vary depending on the size of your steaks and how well done you prefer them.

4) Take the pan out and let your steaks rest on a plate. Cover with foil. Put the skillet back on high heat and pour the red wine of your choice over all of the steak bits stuck to the pan. For 4 steaks, I used about half a bottle.

5) The red wine will reduce down as far as you let it. I reduce it to about half a cup of sauce. It helps to whisk in a little flour to thicken it up. You can also get creative and add herbs/spices to the wine as it’s cooking. Thyme is a good one. So is a little liquid smoke.

6) Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pan-Seared Steak with Red Wine Reduction Sauce

  1. Rayna Flannery

    this steak is AMAZING. especially with the caramelized onions on top, those were tasty.

  2. Hi, I don’t really mind you using my photo, but I do mind you not giving any photo credits. Can you please add them or remove the photo?
    It’s: FotoosVanRobin with a link back to the original photo at:
    Smoked and grilled steak

Leave a Reply

