Salmon with Balsamic and Roasted Potatoes

Typically, I really enjoy roasting my food as opposed to any other method of cooking, but for some reason I hadn’t ever tried roasting potatoes, a pretty standard vegetable to cook up in that way. A few days ago, in a pure food conundrum I realized I had some untouched salmon and a few red potatoes up for grabs. I’m so glad I chose to pluck them up from their little mesh bag! Roasted potatoes are my new favorite food. Even though it takes awhile to cook, the result is a slightly crispy exterior with a flaky potato cushion on the inside. The salmon was really good too, and once again, I had somehow missed a culinary staple. I love reducing liquids down into some sort of sauce but I had never done the standard-balsamic vinegar. All in all, this dinner really took very little effort on my part for such a nice looking (and healthful-bonus!) plate at the end.

Salmon

Brush some olive oil and sprinkle some salt on the top of a fillet and cook it however you normally cook your salmon. I just put mine in a foil pouch in the oven for about 15 mintues. I don’t even know if that’s a legitimate way to cook fish but it seemed like the right thing to do at the time?

In a saucepan, boil down some balsamic vinegar. I put about half a cup in and ended up with a few tablespoons.

Potatoes

Cut your favorite kind of small, round potato with a thin peel into 4 pieces. Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, parsley and a bit of fresh grated Parmesan cheese. Roast on 425 for around half an hour.

Put the salmon on a bed of spinach and drizzle the reduced balsamic over top. Serve with the potatoes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

