Stonyfield Greek Yogurt

Since I’ve been skipping out on my blogging fix the past few weeks, I wanted to do a quick review of a product that I literally just sat down to eat and felt compelled to write about. It’s a well known fact that writing scathing reviews is more fun and easier to do than writing a good review so let the fun begin. Lately I’ve had a slight obsession with Greek Yogurt (specifically Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt) and since Walmart didn’t have Chobani, discouraged as I was, I though I’d try out Stonyfield’s Organic Greek Yogurt line, “Oikos”. I love their organic plain yogurt so I figured this couldn’t be too bad. That was a pricey mistake. What I have grown to love so much about this kind of yogurt is, firstly, its smooth and dense consistency (not at all a gag-inducing consistency like regular yogurt can be), and secondly, its unique tart flavor. It’s so rare to find food that has that kind of tartness naturally and isn’t a form of candy. Hence, when I opened up the Oikos Greek Yogurt and found about a half inch of golden watery liquid in the bottom of the cup (it was honey flavored), I was slightly deterred. I thought that maybe it wouldn’t water it down too much and it would just add a nice sweet flavor. Unfortunately, it did water it down, swiflty converting that thick creamy consistency into a watery, grainy one. P.S. I have no idea where the “grains” came from. Those were weird and I’m thinking maybe they were solidified bits of honey? The flavoring also over-sweetened it and eliminated the tartness I like so much. I realize that I could have chosen a flavor that wasn’t “honey”, clearly a sweetening agent. I’m just wondering if there’s a way to add sweetness but stay true to the tart nature of the food. Anyways, no hard feeling Stonyfield, I still love your regular yogurt. However when I go Greek, I’m sticking with Chobani.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stonyfield Greek Yogurt

  1. hannahpoturalski

    You need to find the Greek Gods honey yogurt. You will love it, I promise.

  2. I will definitely look for it. It’s hard to find specialty items in Oxford haha.

Leave a Reply

