When Life Gives You Absolutely Nothing, Make Hot Chocolate

Today, I felt like screaming “WAHHHH!” as loud as I could on my way home from class so that everyone in the vicinity could hear that, hey, that girl over there who’s having a melt down must be having a pretty horrible day.

It’s admittedly narcissistic and kind of embarrassing, but at least now I’ve somewhat screamed it into cyber space; the ever vast community of bloggers, surfers and bored people always willing to check up on the petty thoughts of others like myself.  Too bleak? Just let me have my angst ridden Anthony Bourdain moment, please.

What do you do when the realization comes that you’ve passed up on something good? I let it go casually, like brushing off a leaf that lands on your shoulder-not with irritation but apathy. Now, almost a year later, I realize how nicely it could’ve turned out had I looked more closely.

This sadness on top of the never-ending gray Ohio weather, plastered permanently on the ceiling of every town in this state, led me to the kitchen for some cheering up.  My new motto: When life (seemingly) gives you not lemons but absolutely nothing, make hot chocolate.

I didn’t have any baking chocolate at home so I just used chocolate chips. I make my hot chocolate with fewer chips than most. Feel free to add more.

Sweet Almond and Hazelnut Hot Chocolate

  • 1/4 cup amaretto (If you don’t have amaretto, get some. Seriously. But if it’s out of your price range, you can substitute either vanilla extract or almond flavoring- you’d only need a few teaspoons of either.)
  • 3 cups skim milk
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 heaping tablespoon Nutella (this one really is worth buying and it’s easy to find now in most grocery stores)
  • two cinnamon sticks or 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Combine the milk and chocolate chips over medium heat, whisking until melted and blended.
  2. Add the Nutella and whisk this in as well. This will take a few minutes. Nutella is really thick but eventually it’ll melt down and mix in.
  3. Add the amaretto and cinnamon sticks. Keep over medium heat for 5 minutes or so until it’s nice and hot. The alcohol will evaporate out but if you too are having a night like I am, you can add the amaretto in after you take it off the stove.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

