Being vegan: Day 1

Don’t worry…I went out with a bang. Yesterday I ate nearly all meat and cheese, although a few raspberries may have slipped in there at some point…

ImageToday, day 1, I woke up around 6 in the morning (on my day off, I might add) with an upset stomach and enough nerves to make a sloth jittery. This, of course, was due to my paranoia about needles which I would have to confront head on come 9:30 or so.

Confront, I did. After the nearly painless blood drawing (results to come) my dad and I had a smoothie with apple, strawberries, blackberries, oats and almond milk. We also had an apple on top of the fruit smoothie, which may account for why we both had similar cart-halting, bathroom-sprinting experiences today- mine at Whole Foods and his at Kroger. TMI? Maybe.

I do love Whole Foods. They have such great options for people with not so typical diets, and their prepared food is always spectacular. My mom bought a vegan blueberry muffin and it was ethereal. However, their produce is beyond expensive (hence my sending the pops to Kroger for veggies and fruit), and I discovered this honey as well. I had to share. Now, I’ve heard good things about Manuka Honey. But 33 dollars?! Hot damn. I’ll buy a hive for that much, thank you very much.

Image

All in all, successful first day.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Being vegan: Day 1

  1. Your cart halting experience is just the natural food cleaning up the mess and removing it promptly. As you progress further on in your vegan journey, your bowel patterns will normalize and you won’t have those incidents where the waste inside has to come out right there and right now.

    And yes, no honey is worth that price. Be careful with all the health products sold, even when labeled vegan, they are often detrimental to your health and your wallet or purse. Seek natural sources and you will be rewarded in health.

    As for the expensive fruits and veggies, do not be scared of the organic prices and buy them when you can. This produce appears very similar to non-organic versions, but it is not loaded with harmful ingredients and retains its natural flavor.

    Best wishes with your health…

  2. Cami Laurel

    Yay!! Welcome to the Fellowship of the Funky Eaters Club! Don’t you worry about your guts—they just get stronger over time (or you develop an astute sense of precisely how many steps to the nearest lavatory). Glad you made it through the gut-wrenching needle poke–hopefully that will be the last in your lifetime (doubt it, but one can always be positive). Good luck in the label reading–it is amazing how one develops a scientific brain just by reading and analyzing the modern food label. Be warned–you may never go back to “Americanized Frankenfoods” Love you, and keep up the blogging–it is quite entertaining to hear about the trials and tribulations of the Graham family vegans.
    Cami

  3. caroleen

    I love your new food blog, and good luck on the vegan eating . Hopefully this will be a lifetime adventure. !!Caroleen

  4. Jessica

    Yay!! I’m so glad that you are doing well with it so far.

    After the holidays I think I will be doing a cleanse for a bit – to start once I figure out the specifications of such cleanse :)…. not quite vegan, but something to clear out all the crap from my system and start off with a healthy new year.

    Healthy …. plus….. I got the email today that we’re 10 months out from the wedding and it’s time to start dress shopping!!! Ahh! Time to clean up my eating habits and hit the gym!

    Can’t wait to hear more about your vegan foodie journey!

  5. Pingback: My 28 Day Vegan Journey (a day late) | Whimsies of a Hopeful Foodie

Leave a Reply

