A Haiku for Kim Barnouin

To Kim Barnouin

I will send my gratitude

for her chickpea cakes

 

Did you like that? A little literary/culinary juxtaposition there. I hope her last name is pronounced in three syllables like I’ve been assuming…

I have on my desk a plethora of vegan cookbooks. One of them is Kim Barnouin’s “Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook” from which the “Curried Chickpea Cakes” at left came from. Add some “Raspberry-Mango Salsa” on top from “The Imus Ranch: Cooking for Kids and Cowboys” and you’ve got a tummy-rubbing good meal, and so pretty to boot! I made three each for myself, my dad, and my brother, and everyone loved them.  I’ll put the recipes below…I hope that’s not some illegal copyright thing…I mean I told you who came up with them, right?

While we’re talking about cookbooks, I should also mention “The Vegan Table” by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. Last night I made her “Chocolate Cake With Coffee Ganache”. It was fantastic! I had like three pieces this morning with my tea. I might make the ganache a little differently next time, but overall I was so impressed with this recipe. You know it’s good when I forget to take a picture before digging in. The one adjustment I made was replacing the 1/3 cup canola oil for 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. This saves a whopping 596 calories, most all of which are fat, and I swear to all that’s holy, you cannot tell one bit of difference in the taste. I also only used half a cup preserves for the glaze instead of a cup. (That was an accident because we only had half a cup, but hey! It worked!)

Who says vegan food is boring?

 

Curried Chickpea Cakes

  • 1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup sliced green onions, both white and light green parts
  • 1/3 cup light coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons evaporated cane sugar (*tms foodie* substitution: 1 teaspoon agave syrup)
  • 2/3 cup breadcrumbs, plus 1/4 cup for coating (*tms foodie* substitution: I didn’t use the extra 1/4 cup, and I use Panko crumbs)
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2/3 cup COOKED brown rice (this means you’ll only need 1/3 cup dry)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil or toasted sesame oil, for pan searing

In a large food processor, combine the chickpeas and green onions. Pulse until combined. Transfer to a large mixing bowl. Add the coconut milk, sugar, 2/3 cup of the breadcrumbs, curry powder, nutmeg, and cumin. Stir together with a wooden spoon until well combined. Stir in the brown rice and the salt. Mold into 10 mini patties.

In a large saute pan, heat the oil over medium heat (*I did not add all the oil at once. I used about a teaspoon at a time and added more as needed*). Add the chickpea cakes to the pan in batches and saute until there’s a nice golden sear on the bottom. Flip and sear the other side as well. Continue with the remaining cakes. Transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate to drain.

Raspberry-Mango Salsa

  • 2 cups pureed fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 cup minced green onion
  • 1 cup seeded and chopped fresh plum
  • tomatoes (*we omitted this because we used tomato chunks instead of pureed)
  • 1/2 cup whole fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 cup diced mango (*we added an entire mango*)
  • 1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons minced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons minced cilantro
In a bowl, gently combine all the ingredients, being careful not to mash the raspberries. Chill for 1 hour to allow the flavors to blend.
Chocolate Cake with Coffee Ganache
(For Cake)
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (*I used 3/4 cup raw sugar*)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup nondairy milk (soy, rice, almond, hazelnut, hemp, or oat-I used almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup black coffee of your choice
  • 1/3 cup canola oil (I used 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1 tbsp white distilled vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
(for glaze)
  • 1 cup apricot preserves or jam (I used half a cup cherry preserves for a black forest cake effect)
  • 2 tbsp water
(for ganache)
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tbsp black coffee
  • 2 tbsp nondairy, non-hydrogenated butter (such as earth balance) (*this is where I would change things a little-even earth balance is rich in oils and fats, although they’re non-hydrogenated and casein free which is good. I’d like to try adding a little fruit pectin for shine, instead*)
To make the cake, preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly oil an 8- or 9- inch cake pan. A springform pan is a great option.
Combine flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and cocoa powder in a bowl until mixed througouhly. It may be necessary to sift the cocoa powder to make sure it is very fine. You can do this easily with a small strainer.
Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add milk, coffee, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir until thoroughly mixed. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely.
To make the glaze add preserves and water to a small saucepan and heat over medium heat, stirring often. Cook until drops that cling to the spoon are very sticky and relunctant to leave, 2-3 minutes. Strain thorugh a wire sieve into a small bowl, pressing hard on the solids. Set aside.
To make the ganache, combine cocoa, confectioners sugar, coffee, and nondairy butter in a double boiler (or make a double boiler by placing a small pot in a larger one). Heat over low medium heat until ingredients are combined and appear shiny.
Once the cake has cooled completely, spread glaze evenly over the top. Pour ganache over glaze and spread with off-set spatula. If necessary, to cover entire top. This process works well if both the glaze and the ganache are still warm. If you make them in advance and store them in the refrigerator simply warm them over low heat and proceed. Serve cake immediately or store in the refrigerator until ready to serve.
Yield: 8 servings. *we divided ours into about 12 pieces…but ate several so…*


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Haiku for Kim Barnouin

  1. Pingback: How To Prepare California Shark Taco Cones Whit Mango Salsa – With Step By Step Directions | Gourmet Foods For Folk's who enjoy Food!

Leave a Reply

